Dismiss Notice
New Cookie Policy
On May 24, 2018, we published revised versions of our Terms and Rules and Cookie Policy. Your use of AstronomyConnect.com’s services is subject to these revised terms.

class="prefix prefixOrange">Vintage Equipment An odd but good gift

Discussion in 'Telescopes and Mounts' started by Leonard, Feb 5, 2019.

An odd but good gift

Started by Leonard on Feb 5, 2019 at 4:21 PM

8 Replies 1661 Views 5 Likes

Reply to Thread Post New Thread
  1. Leonard

Leonard Well-Known Member

I’m new here, but I’m an old man considering amateur astronomy terms. So, I thought I might type out a bit about my background and how I got into the hobby....etc

It will be 20 years this Christmas when my wife bought me a scope for a gift. She wanted to get me another gift, and didn’t know what to buy me. We were at the local Wal M. She was in line checking out and I was in the eye department waiting. It just so happened that her line was in easy site of the eye department. I was checking out the scopes they used to sell at Christmas, looking through a 114, F8 Tasco reflector. She noticed me and the scope and bought it the next day.

That 114mm turned out to be a decent scope and a good starter scope. The main mirror is parabolic so the scope can handle mags of 125 to 150 without much of a problem.

It has a plastic Rack and Pinion focuser, but its diameter is 1.25” diameter. It came with an EQ1 mount, so it bounced around a good bit. I added more weight which settled the mount down a bit. However, the eyepieces left much to be desired; an SR4mm, a 20mm and a 12mm Huygens and a pretty well useless 3x Barlow.