Dismiss Notice
New Cookie Policy
On May 24, 2018, we published revised versions of our Terms and Rules and Cookie Policy. Your use of AstronomyConnect.com’s services is subject to these revised terms.

Stellarium 0.19.0 (Linux)

Discussion in 'Astronomy Software, Apps, and Websites' started by Mak the Night, May 3, 2019.

Stellarium 0.19.0 (Linux)

Started by Mak the Night on May 3, 2019 at 3:42 AM

25 Replies 5273 Views 1 Likes

Reply to Thread Post New Thread
  1. Mak the Night

Mak the Night Well-Known Member

I've just downloaded the snap package of Stellarium 0.19.0 on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.

8lhhUCm.jpg

I've been running Stellarium for over ten years, although I stopped running it on Windows for a long time. I only run Android, Chrome OS, Ubuntu and macOS now.

stellmoon.jpg

0.19.0 seems OK although it has frozen the computer once and I can't permanently change background landscapes.

meteor.jpg

Neither can I convince it not to show meteor showers when opened. Although I can toggle them on/off. Overall, it seems to be OK.

Does anyone else run it on Linux?

Orion25 likes this.
  2. Mak the Night

OK, I've discovered how to change the background. :)

garching.jpg

3. Mak the Night

Well, it’s been a couple of days since I switched the bog-standard repo Stellarium 0.14.3-1 for the 0.19.0 snap. I was initially reluctant to update 0.14.3 with the Terminal as it was working well and I think that Stellarium has suffered for a bit from feature creep in many recent releases. If I recall correctly the most infamous being the Stellarium 0.12.0 great rendering engine upbork that seriously didn’t play well with the Windows BIOS clock. Not that the Windows BIOS clock ever had any accuracy to begin with of course, but it would push the system clock a minute forward every time Stellarium was launched. Eventually I uninstalled Stellarium from my Win 7 desktop and replaced it with SN7 and CdC.

6xMsdjl.jpg