Dismiss Notice
New Cookie Policy
On May 24, 2018, we published revised versions of our Terms and Rules and Cookie Policy. Your use of AstronomyConnect.com’s services is subject to these revised terms.

My First Telescope Will Be... ?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Corner' started by Astro_Padawan, Sep 18, 2015.

My First Telescope Will Be... ?

Started by Astro_Padawan on Sep 18, 2015 at 12:41 PM

29 Replies 4057 Views 0 Likes

Reply to Thread Post New Thread
?

What do I get?

1. 8" Dobsinian

10 vote(s)
    71.4%
  2. Refractor

2 vote(s)
    14.3%
  3. Other (let me know!)

2 vote(s)
    14.3%
  1. Astro_Padawan

Astro_Padawan Member

I'm trying to keep my first purchase fairly low as I'm new to this. I don't want to mess up a better telescope while I'm learning about using it, so I'm going the cheap route first. Unless anyone wants to advise against me going cheaper?

When I say cheaper I mean $200-$500 range. I see a lot of telescopes that are in excess of $1000 and while I'd love to jump right in, I feel it's a little smarter for me to spend a little and learn a little before I go broke from a new addicting hobby :p

I live in an urban environment. Light pollution is a thing around me. I live in Los Angeles County and there are few places to escape to without the light pollution. I'd love to be able to observe from my yard which has no street lights or trees obstructing my view, but there's no denying the glow of a city in the distance. Not sure if that's a real issue for observing. I'm absolutely fine with taking the telescope with me and heading to the Angeles Crest Highway or observatories.

I'd really like to get into deep space observations, but I'll settle on the moon and planets if my price range will not work well for dso.